National Intangible Cultural Heritage

According to the “Intangible Cultural Heritage Law of the People's Republic of China”, intangible cultural heritage refers to the traditional cultural manifestations of the cultural heritage component and the object and venue related to the traditional cultural manifestations in the people of all ethnics. These include:

  1. Traditional oral literature and its language;
  2. Traditional art, calligraphy, music, dance, drama, opera, and acrobatics;
  3. Traditional skills, medicine, and calendar;
  4. Traditional rites, festival, and custom;
  5. Traditional sports, and entertainment;
  6. Other intangible cultural heritage.

The State Council has announced four national lists of intangible cultural heritage respectively in 2006, 2008, 2011, and 2014. The government of Guangdong, Hong Kong, and Macau had co-applied successfully to inscribe Cantonese opera and herb tea onto the first national list of intangible cultural heritage. On the third list in 2011, Hong Kong had four items that were inscribed successfully. These include Cheung Chau Jiao Festival, Tai O Dragon Boat Water Parade, Tai Hang Fire Dragon Dance, and The Yu Lan Ghost Festival of the Hong Kong Chiu Chow Community. On the fourth list in 2014, Hong Kong had four items that were inscribed successfully again. These include The Hakka Unicorn Dance in Hang Hau, Sai Kung, Wong Tai Sin Belief and Customs, Quanzhen Temples Taoist Ritual Music, and The Arts of the Guqin (The Craft of Qin Making).